Just to add my 2c to the herd.
There is a group of people who operate under various names and basically phone people, tell them they’ve won a car or something and then make them attend a prize giving where they discover they’ve won nothing but then subsequently get lured into some contract holiday garbage which invariably ends up costing them way more than they expected. This bait and switch operation is the very definition of a scam.
Long story short, if someone phones you and says you’ve won something, don’t believe them… alternatively you can tell them to drop off the car at your house when they have a moment :)
In the mean time, another South African blogger wrote some stuff about the scam on his blog and QVC are subsequently trying to sue him for over half a million rand, which is basically their way of saying “We’re bigger than you”… well, they might be, but they’re not bigger than all of us.
You can read more about this case here and here
ps QVC, aka Quality Vacation Club, aka Prestige Business Solutions, aka Unique Connections, aka World Connect/VIP/VIP World Connect, aka Prime Vision, aka Media Magic, aka Mega Communications, aka Ezweni Communications, aka Dynamic Communication, aka Real Communications/Real Communication, aka Ecoworld, aka Market Matrix.
Why would a legitimate business need so many aliases?
I encourage other bloggers to get this story out into the wild so that these con artists start to feel the google crunch.
#1 by Donn Edwards at December 4th, 2008
| Quote
Why so many aliases indeed? And why are they so evasive when you start asking questions. Check out the responses on HelloPeter.com!
#2 by Yeshika at February 10th, 2009
| Quote
Like everyone else I also got a phone call where they said I was 1 out of 15 couples in line to win a car – chevy spark.
I was very sceptical, and googled the name prime vision where i saw all the complaints on hellopeter.com
Thanks to all who posted complains about this bogus company!ime
Something really needs to be done about these scam artists!!! They waste good peoples time and money!
#3 by Steven at May 4th, 2009
| Quote
Someone called me to say that I was 1 of 15 shortlisted to win a car. I was sceptical and specifically asked whether I would have to attend a any sort of presentation. Twice I was told not. I gave the caller the benefit of the doubt and decided to attend. The minute we arrived we were sent to a room where we were asked to complete a form related to our income and whether we already own “holiday ownership”. This is an absolute sham! Upon complaining to the representatives at hand I was confornted with an aggressive and defensive attitude.I aksed for the contact details of the manager / owner of the QVC. I just tried calling “Nash Stevens” on the numbers given. The phones ring unanswered.
#4 by Tracy Gibson at May 5th, 2009
| Quote
There has to be a law we can use in this instance they are harrassing us and we need to put a stop to it this is also fraud they are stealing our leave and salaries asking us to be there with their lies
#5 by Kelly at May 5th, 2009
| Quote
Is this “company” based in Midrand, VIP Offices, Guildford Road?
They are having a draw this afternoon Tuesday 5th May at 14h00 and 16h00 for a Chevy Spark??????????
#6 by arbitraryuser at May 5th, 2009
| Quote
Hi Kelly,
I’ve heard about the Chevy Spark before and it was a scam that time too.
If these people call you I’d suggest you just tell them they can drop the car off at your house if you win. ;)
j.
#7 by Alet Erasmus at May 26th, 2009
| Quote
we were scammed into this winning a car, so they talked us into buying points in the vacation club, we were gulleble, no that we are trying to get out!!!!!!!!!!!!anybody that can help me please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#8 by transidle at July 1st, 2009
| Quote
Hi Guys and girls,
Let’s rally up some support…
#9 by T Smith at August 8th, 2009
| Quote
We also have bought into this, has anyone had any success with gettting out of the scheme? or has anyone got any good comments?
#10 by terra nonfirma at August 24th, 2009
| Quote
I have just received the above blah blah blah phone call from dynamic communications . I am guranteed a prize of a chevy spark, garmin, quad bike and ad nauseaum. All that I have to do is do the draw myself. I am also invited to a free dinner and refreshments. My reference number is J 611. The landline number that I asked for is 0114674823. The draw will be held at Terra Firma in Fourways. A moron called Anna will be contacting me shortly. What do I do? .She sounded so genuine,though her command of english grammar leaves a lot to be desired
#11 by arbitraryuser at August 24th, 2009
| Quote
Hi Terra ;)
Personally I would arm myself with as much info as possible and then go to their “prize giving” and cause as much shit as possible.
j.
#12 by Devan at August 28th, 2009
| Quote
HI All, I also got a call yesterday about winning a chevy spark, one of 15 people invited and that I am guaranteed either a garmin , a holiday to cape town, a quad. This company is based in midrand off new road, called VIP. I think this is an ideal topic for carte blanche. I believe that there are competition regulations and these cases is a definite case of fraud. Thank you
#13 by Ellen at September 10th, 2009
| Quote
Yeah, I got The Phonecall today, on my landline (to my surprise…). Immediately suspicious, I started asking a lot of questions, and the guy (Clement from Interwave in Fourways, a “research” company working on behalf of Terra Firma) just kept repeating the same thing over and over again. He kept on avoiding to answer me, and he wanted to find out where I lived. As I was dragging for more time, he was starting to get very irritated. They obviously need to make their numbers, and everybody who asks too many questions is not earning them anything. I asked what the company sells, what business they are in, and he blatantly refused to answer, playing the broken record “you’ve entered into a competition to win a Chevy Spark blahblahblah”. I hope they phone me back so I can irritate them a bit more…
#14 by Henry at September 11th, 2009
| Quote
I got the call today, been bothering me as I was sceptical from the begining, where did they get my numer as i got a new phone and sim, I asked her if this is some sort of time share crap, no I was told , I said if it was I would smack the living sh*t out of who ever is doing presentation/ award, now I know, I feel like going there with a few of my mates to beat the crap out of them.
#15 by Neal at September 14th, 2009
| Quote
I’d happily take a day off work to go stage a little protest of sorts at their offices. Maybe take along a couple of beers and a braaier and piss them off some. Anyone else interested? Why not get the media involved? That way the peeps who still don’t know where a computer’s on switch is, won’t get scammed anymore. Let’s close down these SOB’s.
#16 by leon at October 7th, 2009
| Quote
I am one of those that were scammed by QVC. Now I am stuck with these points If I have to sell them(you cannot give them back) you only get half your money back. My membership fee jumped from R3400/ year to R5000 this year. I am stuck. Complaints just fall on deaf ears.
#17 by Amore at October 13th, 2009
| Quote
We’re members of QVC and we’ve never had problems, and been on lots of holidays with the points too! Let me tell you it is well worth it!
#18 by Yo at October 15th, 2009
| Quote
I also got the call yesterday. This woman had to spell everything, cause i couldn’t understand a bloody word she was saying. Good thing there’s something like Google, typed in Terrafirma, and viola! All the complaints popped up. I’m waiting for Anna to call, got a few comments ready for her….
#19 by Ollie at November 6th, 2009
| Quote
Just a hint – they start calling you just after you’ve placed an ad in the Junkmail…
#20 by Rehana at November 28th, 2009
| Quote
I got a call on Thursday 26th November 2009.
I got a comfirmation call yesterday.
They now calling themselves Interwave. Thank goodness i googled and found all the complaints.
#21 by judy at December 7th, 2009
| Quote
My husband got a call, I was immediatley suspicious so I looked up the company. So long as we are gullible and looking for freebies we will be caught by these scam artists
#22 by Eljean at December 10th, 2009
| Quote
I also got the call on the 8th December 2009 from to win a Chevy Spark. Ref J536, Tel 011 4675823. Draw to take place at Terra Firma, Fourways at 10h00 on the 10th December 2009
The confirmation call was done within 15 min
Thank goodness I also googled
#23 by Michelle at January 13th, 2010
| Quote
Thank you for the blog.. Just saved me a lot of trouble..and yeah,happened just after placing an ad in Junkmail
#24 by Rudolf at January 19th, 2010
| Quote
Hi
I just got called by a Michelle from ‘World Connect’. She said I am already a confirmed winner of one of the following, a quad bike, Garmin GPS, some kitchen appliance, some vacation for 2, etc… I am also 1 of 15 finalists invited to the draw for a 2009 Chevy Spark. This is to be held in Midrand on 21 Jan 2010. Michelle said the the ‘event coordinator’, Tracy will call me tomorrow with directions to the venue. Their hotline no is 087 805 2365. Michelle also gave me a J425 reference no.
According to her I entered by sms in Oct 2009 in Kempton Park. How would they know that I sent some sms from Kempton Park? Fishy!!! I know for a fact that I didn’t enter any compitition of this nature. This is a scam for sure! Thanks to google and everybody that posted!